DIY PROJECT / SQUIRREL FEEDER

Hello readers. Happy Friday! I have a fun weekend DIY Project for you. Here at my house we love the critter activity. And with 2 furry kids and a nice screened in back porch, there is a lot to see. We like to feed the squirrels just as much as we like feeding the birds, turkeys and deer. It gets to be a regular Jungle Jim out there. At our last house my husband built us a platform feeder. It was made out of treated wood to last longer outside. It had a nice sturdy wooden post and a nice square platform on top. The platform had a type of screw that came up from the bottom so I could slide a corn cob on there for the squirrels to feast. It was a lot of fun and years of enjoyment. When I had over ripe fruit, I would place it on the platform and at dusk we would be lucky enough to have a flying squirrel or two come out to get the fruit. But when we moved it stayed there. I have been wanting something like that here at this house. But Hubby has been soooo busy. Didn’t want him to spend so much time building another if possible. So I was thinking of something we could make into a platform feeder. Searched our so called “Loot” pile. I had picked up a rusty step stool second hand. The previous owners had already added a round piece of vinyl to the top. My hubby used a self drilling screw, has a drill tip end. A commercial roofing screw. The point is not super sharp which is good, but pointed enough for me to work a corn cob on there. IMG_4901He had to add a small piece of wood to the underside for support and to hold the length of the screw better.IMG_4903And it works fine. I get a bag of squirrel corn cobs at Wal-Mart. And I place one on there every morning. It only took 1 day for them to get the hang of it. It is sturdy. And should last a good while. And also it didn’t take much time at all for that busy Hubby of mine. I Love It!IMG_4907And the Squirrels love it!IMG_4911He is hard to see. Just to the right of the corn. Easy, and Fun. A word of Caution: Please, Please be careful when placing the corn. Even though the screw is not super sharp, You could still hurt yourself. Just be careful when putting the corn on there. Don’t slip and stab yourself. Or scratch yourself. Grab the cob from the side not the top and gently twist it and work it onto the screw. Also, I never leave the screw exposed. I leave the empty corn cob on there until the next time to add a fresh one. I don’t want the critters getting hurt either. After a day or two,You will have the critters just waiting on you to step a side.IMG_4924

Leave a Reply

